sweet and fluffy

For Christmas presents to our friends I made packs of hot chocolate, marshmallows and candy canes. If you haven’t tried making marshmallows before I highly recommend it- it’s really fun and they taste delicious!  Don’t be intimidated- they’re much easier to make than it looks.  I used my KitchenAid mixer for this task, unless you’re looking for an arm workout I wouldn’t use a hand mixer. 

I used Ashley Rodriguez’s recipe for the marshmallows which can be found here.  Ashley is a fabulous pastry chef who does many of our wedding desserts.  Her blog is full of delicious recipes if you’re ever looking for dessert ideas. She’s lucky enough to have a photographer husband who makes her dessert photos look amazing!

Here is the batter in the KitchenAid.  This is just before I poured the mixture into the pan.

Mallow Batter

More mallow batter

I cut some of the marshmallows into snowflakes using a snowflake cookie cutter.  I also cut some of them into squares with a pizza cutter. 

Snowflake Marshmallows

For my presentation I cut snowflake paper into rectangles for a backing that fit into glassine bags and affixed a label to the seal the bags with hot glue.  The label template is from Martha Stewart.  (Someday I’m going to get Photoshop so I can make my own labels.)

I filled jars with hot chocolate mix (I was going to make my own but didn’t due to time and budget constraints), covered the jars with white felt and attached a ribbon around the lid of the jar for a festive touch.  I made a label with the hot chocolate recipe and hot glued it to the top of the jar. 

Presto- a holiday gift for your friends. 

All packaged up...

From above

Packet of Marshmallows

I will say, I would wait to package the marshmallows until right before you’re going to deliver the packages.  Some of my marshmallows got a little dry by the time of delivery.

One response to “sweet and fluffy

  1. Jessica

    So cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

