diy: bedroom curtains

I am not a fabulous sewer but I do have a sewing machine and a “can do” attitude! One of my goals this year is to become a better sewer, so I committed myself to sewing one item per month for the whole year in hopes to reach that goal.

My project this month was to make new curtains for our bedroom. I wanted to make tall panel curtains for the larger window and a roman shade for over the bed.

You may remember the bamboo roman shade previously graced our window, in case you forgot here is a photo:


I purchased some beige linen-like fabric and some black out fabric for lining and set out on my journey. Unfortunately I didn’t have a pattern for the panels or roman shades, just a little inspiration from Jenny at Little Green Notebook and a borrowed Ikea curtain.

I wasn’t able to find blinds that would fit in my oddly sized window so I took apart the bamboo shades and rebuilt them with my fabrics using the inner structure of the old blinds.

Although each window covering took the better part of both my weekend days, I think they turned out pretty darn good for a first timer.

I hope to share the rest of my sewing projects as they are completed each month. Stay tuned.

Side note: I’m thinking about adding nailhead trim and/or buttons to our upholstered headboard, I think it could use a little pizazz…no?

7 responses to “diy: bedroom curtains

  1. Thanks for the email, Rachel!! Your shades look AMAZING! I love your room and that bedding…to die for!

    Great job!!

    xoxo
    jenny

  2. Sister

    Great job Rach! Those shades are awesome! Can’t wait to actually see it in person this March.

  3. Meredith

    Yay for working on your sewing! I love what you did with the shades and think tufting your headboard would look awesome. If you ever want to spend an afternoon to learn some more technical sewing or even hone your awesome skills, local fabric stores and Bernina retailers offer cheap classes. I took one in high school and learned a TON!

    Hope you are doing well!

  4. Beakster

    Rachel – these look great! Your bedroom looks fantastic. I’m interested in seeing what your next sewing project will be.

    Love,
    Dad

  5. rachelmarie4384

    Thanks for the encouragement guys! It’s fun to have a room that feels a little more complete.

    The bedding is from Anthropologie…it’s hard to go wrong with Anthro. 🙂

  6. Nice work, Rachel! That’s my goal for post -graduation, to slowly pick up sewing. keep it up!

  7. meganmacbrady

    The picture quality is great, Rach! Puttin’ that new camera to work! ❤

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

