kitchen cure: week two

My Kitchen Cure update is a little late this week since my sister was in town. The assignment for this week was to organize all of your kitchen tools as well as to think about a special project to spruce up your kitchen.

Again, since I haven’t had my own house for 10, 20 or even 5 years I wasn’t so overloaded with multiples of each tool and I definitely didn’t have anything that was rusty, but I was able to organize them a bit better and wipe down the drawers.

I also started on Week Three’s assignment which is to deep clean the kitchen. I wiped down some of my appliances, fronts and inside of my cabinets and drawers but I haven’t even begun to tackle the stove, oven or floor…yuck. I sort of feel like the deep clean part of this cure should last two weeks as it’s a pretty big job.

Here are a few photos from to tool organization. This is the tool drawer before:

Tool drawer after. I kept most of my tools, just moved a couple around. I do have two can openers, but I decided to keep them both since they double as bottle openers.

Baking tools before:

Baking tools after. I have a couple sets (OK, three and a half sets) measuring cups and about four sets of measuring spoons. I know this might be a bit much but I do like to bake and this means I don’t have to clean off my Tablespoon measure if it’s already in the dishwasher. Eventually I’d like to get a little tray to hold all of my measuring spoons and maybe another for the rubber scrapers, but this works for now.

Leftover containers before. I have never lived in a house where the leftover container drawer wasn’t a source or disorganization. Why is it that it’s so hard to organize this part of our kitchens? Does anyone have any savvy ideas?

Leftover containers after. The bummer is a whole bunch of leftover containers were in my dishwasher while I was doing this so I had to find a way to stack them in there along with everything else.

Helpful hint: I corralled the cord of my hand mixer and beaters with an old toilet paper tube that I have saved. It keeps everything together and then slips right off when I need to plug it in.

I found a couple small leftover containers without lids that I used to collect chip clips and twist ties in my plastic wrap/foil/baggie drawer.

If you’re looking for a place to store all of the lids to your pots and pans I highly recommend getting one of these from Ikea. (I couldn’t find them online but we have them at our store) It was super easy to install and has literally changed my life (ie: frustration level has lowered) every time I put away pots and pans.

My special project was to purchase a kitchen cart so the microwave has a place to live.  Ikea had the perfect cart to fit between the door and refrigerator and the $60 price tag was hard to beat.

I guess you could also consider the painting of the trim a special project as well.

How are you all doing on Week Two of your cure? Does anyone have organization tips to share? Be sure to check out the Cure webpage daily as they post tips to help you through the weeks assignment.

I’ll post on my deep clean by the end of the week.  Good luck!

5 responses to “kitchen cure: week two

  1. Tina

    Wow. Pretty rad Before/After pictures friend!

  2. Clare

    I want to put rice/sugar/etc into cute containers. At Pier One they have clear ones with a little chalk board on the side so you can ID what they are. Do you think it would work to just buy ones from Ikea and the chalk board paint? Would they be washable?

  3. rachelmarie4384

    Clare- I’ve seen the containers you’re talking about at Pier One they are really cute. I think it would probably be easiest to buy those containers than to make your own. Probably most cost effective as well. I don’t think the chalkboard should wash off in the dishwasher.

    I got my glass containers from Target, but they have them at World Market, Fred Meyer and a lot of other places around. Good luck! Let me know what you decide to do!

  4. rachelmarie4384

    Thanks Tina.

  5. Cailin

    Two things:

    1. For our leftover containers, I bought a slide-out drawer and installed it from The Container Store, and we put all of our lids in there. The lids aren’t organized, but at least they’re separated, and then we just stack our containers by size/shape. Not sure that helps, but it’s a thought.

    2. Why on earth were you saving a toilet paper roll?!

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

