farmer’s market birthday dinner

My birthday was just over a week ago and one of the things we did to celebrate was visit Bellingham’s Farmers Market. Despite the cold and rain the market was brimming with Bellingham-ers celebrating the opening of this season’s farmers market. (I’d like to think they were all there for my birthday too.)

BJ decided we should pick up some food at the market and cook dinner. Naturally this is a wonderful idea (and a lot of the point of going to the Farmer’s Market) but for some reason this really stresses me out. I feel this need to make sure I pick the right items that will go together and to choose the farmer that has the best produce and needs our support the most. (I do realize the single bundle of leeks we bought isn’t going to put any of these farmers into a different tax bracket but, still.)

Of course I was thrilled with our dinner results and kept saying over and over “We should do this again, like every week!” Hopefully next time I won’t feel the anxiety. ๐Ÿ™‚

BJ did some Google work when we got home and found this recipe for Mushroom Leek Pasta Carbonara:

Pasta from Bellingham Pasta Co.

Mushroom mixture: portabellas, crimini and shitake mushrooms.

Fresh spinach fettuccine.

Saute leeks in a bit of olive oil, then add the mushrooms.

In addition to the sauteed veggies, you add two beaten eggs along with the pasta to thicken it all up. Top with parmesan cheese.

We also bought this delicious roasted vegetable foccacia from Bread Farm and of course a glass of white wine.

Me and the chef. I think it's a little steamy from the pasta cooking.

I encourage you to have a stress free visit to your local farmer’s market and come up with a lovely spontaneous dinner from the local produce.

2 responses to “farmer’s market birthday dinner

  1. Tina

    I think the picture is steamy is because you two are a bunch of hotties. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Clare

    I also always want to give everyone business (especailly the ones that need it the most). So, I try and buy different things from different stands. I know it means I’m giving each stand only a little bit, but it makes me feel better.

    Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

