sweet and salty

A few weeks ago I took a cake baking class with my friend Megan. The class was taught by the amazingly talented Ashley Rodriguez of Not Without Salt. If you haven’t ever read her blog I highly encourage you to check it out. Her photos and recipes are fabulous and she has these adorable little boys (and another one on the way) that are too cute for words.

Anyway…back to the cake class….we had a lot of fun learning recipes and techniques from a real pro pastry chef. We ate so much cake we practically rolled out of there. We totally pretended to take some of our unfinished goodies home to finish later but definitely ate them in the car on the way home. Ha. 🙂 Megan has a full recap of the class on her blog, so check that out here.

One of the recipes we learned was Stir and Dump Chocolate Cupcakes with a Salted Caramel Buttercream. It was probably my favorite thing I ate that night, so I had to make them in my own kitchen and share them with my friends.

They’re a little putzy to make, mostly because you make the cake (super easy) but you also have to make the caramel for the buttercream and the pudding for the filling as well as the buttercream itself. Totally worth it, though. I made all of the components one night and the frosting the next day. Here are a few photos from my adventure in cupcake baking…

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

