hi and mini bathroom upgrade

Hi all! How are you guys? I thought August was going to be our busy month, but somehow September turned out to be just as crazy. So, here we are, already in October, feeling Fall in full force, and enjoying every minute of our little life.

We just got back from a lovely trip to my homeland, Minnesota, to see two of my high school friends get hitched. Isla experienced her first plane ride and met so many people she easily tripled her amount of friends in just 6 days. I’ll post more about our trip soon.

I realize I’m behind posting Isla’s 5 month photo, which is ridiculous since she’s almost 6 months! Yeesh, how did that happen. You guys, she’s so hilarious these days I can’t even imagine where she’s going to be in another 6 months or even a year! I need to explore a good way to post videos over here because she is full of cuteness I’d love to share with you all.

I also hosted two showers for dear friends this month, so stay tuned for details on those, but for now I had to share a mini bathroom makeover that my mom and I took on when she visited at the beginning of August.

Our bathroom was the only room in our house that I hadn’t touched at all. It had this terrible green paint on every surface- the walls, ceiling, trim, everything! It also had the original 1961 pink toilet, which we replaced earlier this year (see happy new toilet photo below) and pink sink in the vanity, which we still have yet to replace.

I had a hard time with this space because I wasn’t in love with the tile in the shower area which was relatively new. It is a grey-ish, brown with some small clay red and glass tile detail. I couldn’t figure out what color to put with the current tile that would fit with the rest of our house.

Here’s what we were working with…

I thought I would probably be able to do yellow in some capacity in there, so we set out for paint and a shower curtain. We found some great graphic fabric for a shower curtain at a local fabric store and then moved on to pick paint colors. This deemed to be more of a challenge than anticipated. Four paint samples later and an equal amount of trips to our paint store, we settled on Benjamin Moore’s Wilmington Tan for the walls. The trim was painted Benjamin Moore’s Super White to match the rest of the trim in our house. We replaced the old medicine cabinet with a mirror from Martha Stewart’s line for Home Depot. This small detail made the bathroom feel so much larger. We picked up a new golden rug and chocolate brown towels to freshen up our linens. I still need to work on some small details, like possible artwork and some bathroom accessories, but I’m waiting to run into the perfect finishing touches.

Here are a few photos of our mini reno. Thanks, Mom for all of your help, it would have taken me weeks to do this much work without you!

I’m still battling with the vanity in here. Not sure if we should replace the whole thing, the counter and sink only, or if this mini update is “good enough.” If anyone has ideas of a low cost but good looking solution I’d love to hear it.

Here’s a gratuitous photo of the little one, just because…

I hope to be posting more in October as my workload has slowed dramatically. Can’t wait to share more of our happenings. Happy October!

6 responses to “hi and mini bathroom upgrade

  1. Jessica

    The brown circle mirror is perfect! Even from the pictures i can tell it ties it all together and makes it looks so much more cohesive! Great work Liane and Rachel! 🙂

  2. susan smith

    Love your window. Repaint the cabinet and pulls/knobs, replace top/sink when your can find a “deal” you can afford, look for standard-size single vanity tops. Fun Mother/Daughter project, lucky Liane!

  3. Meredith

    At Home Depot you can find all in one units like this one: http://www.homedepot.com/Bath-Bathroom-Vanities-Sinks-Cabinets-Bathroom-Vanities/h_d1/N-5yc1vZbza0/R-202197518/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053 (which you would need a faucet for).
    OR (I hate to even say it sometimes) Ikea has great all in one units too like this one: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/S99861905/#/S29861881/ (which would also need a sink). For the time you would put into renovating your existing cabinet, it probably makes more sense to buy a prefab unit….

    Love seeing pics of your baby!!

  4. rachelmarie4384

    Susan- Using the existing cabinet would allow us to avoid having to replace or repair the floor. I’ll keep my eye out for some countertop deals.

    Mer- I’ve seen those units at Home Depot, I just need to pull the trigger either way! The only thing with the Ikea units are the sinks are SO shallow. I think I just need to pay attention to deals around and see what I can find. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  5. rachel! i’m currently painting the ugly countertops in my kitchen and will let you know how it turns out….it’s a ‘good enough’ alternative…i’m also battling a guest bathroom that is covered from floor to ceiling with ugly pink brown tiles. figuring out what to do with that room too…

  6. rachelmarie4384

    Nams- what are you painting your countertops with? We redid a cabinet unit for our backyard and used special countertop paint. It turned out nice, but I’m nervous to do it on our countertops in the kitchen. I can’t wait to hear how your project turns out. You should start a Pinterest board for your guest room, that space sounds tricky, but I’m sure you’ll come up with something amazing!

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

