happy halloween!

So I realize this is the day AFTER Halloween, but I did want to share a few details on Isla’s Halloween costume. It was a lot of fun to make, super easy and cost effective.

I was inspired by this costume which I found while scouring Pinterest.

 

This costume was based off this Martha Stewart pattern, so I went back to Martha’s pattern and followed it while adding my own little modifications.

I printed off the pattern at 300% to fit her petite 6 month old frame. The largest wing was still pretty large for her so I only ended up using 3 layers of wing (instead of 4). Instead of the pilot cap I made a headband using the ear pieces and added feathers to them. I was a little worried they would look like cat ears without the feathers. I also skipped the goggles. There was so way I was going to get this wiggly little lady to wear something over her eyes all night.

I spent a total of $7 on this costume, including the cost of having the pattern pieces printed at Kinko’s, and I have TONS of leftover felt for anyone else who would also like a pair of owl wings. 🙂

We spent our Halloween at our church’s Trunk or Treat event. I wanted to get a few good photos of her in her costume, but she wasn’t too excited about our backdrop. She immediately got this face…

There was something about that pumpkin.

She hated it. 

30 seconds later. She’s completely fine.

3 responses to “happy halloween!

  1. Kevin Buechler

    These are great pictures. Funny how an orange pumpkin can make her bummed out. I can’t wait to see Isla at Christmas.

    Love, Grandpa Buechler

  2. Liane Buechler

    Where is the owl family????

    Isla looks very cute in her costume. You did a great job, Rach!

  3. Jessica

    Cutest owl ever!

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

