valentine’s party

I hosted a little Valentine’s Day party for some of my mom friends and their kiddos on Valentine’s Day. It’s amazing how much work you can put into a party and then all of it comes apart 5 minutes after everyone has walked in the door, but it’s so rewarding to see everyone enjoy themselves. The aftermath wasn’t too bad either- my floor was full of broken up animal crackers, there were toys everywhere and the only casualty was Isla’s dollar store piggy bank. (my house isn’t completely baby-proofed yet since Isla just started crawling, but I’m going to get on that immediately!)

I served a light brunch including, Byerly’s recipe for Eggs Baked with Leeks and Sun Dried Tomatoes, this is a great recipe as it can be made the night before and baked just before guests arrive. I made Macrina Bakery’s Rocket Muffins and fresh strawberries. For dessert we had Chocolate Dipped Shortbread Cookies and a pink ombre cake. I also had animal crackers and Cheerios for the kiddos to munch on.

Here’s my little cake.

and the surprise inside. Next time I’ll double the cake batter recipe so the layers are taller.

I filled paper lunch bags with a few Valentine’s Day treats. I made the girls heart headbands and the boys bow ties out of leftover felt from Isla’s Halloween costume. I also gave each kiddo a small bag of animal crackers and a container of bubbles.

I spruced up the mantle with my heart garland and some pink roses.

Here’s the best shot of my smallest guests wearing their headbands and bow ties. Pretty cute, huh?

PS: Sorry for the mix of camera and iPhone photos, some photos turned out better on my iPhone. 🙂

2 responses to “valentine’s party

  1. Clare

    What a fun Valentine’s day! I love the ombre cake and also the cake you made for that 3rd birthday party looks amazing. #motivationtobake (Can I comment like a tweet?)

  2. Dad, G-Paw

    I loved the picture of the kids. I fondly remember those days when you guys were that age.

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

