new table

So that my husband knows that I love him, I had to do a special post on the new table he built us. (as if I wasn’t going to!)

We have been using the same small round table that I had in my college apartment, so with the talk of our kitchen remodel (that still hasn’t happened yet) we knew we wanted to upgrade our kitchen table. As a person who likes to entertain, it’s a little ridiculous that I had a 36″ round dinner table.

I have to admit, I was a little nervous to have a larger table in our space because I was afraid it would make everything a little tight, but we measured the table out on the floor using masking tape and decided to go for it. I’m so glad we did, it seems to fit our kitchen so much better than the smaller table. It’s amazing how much better the scale of this table is in the room.

I’m still in the market for a bench (something I can hopefully recover) and a few perfect chairs, but for now, this is a happy addition to our kitchen.

This image was my inspiration:

 

Here is how it turned out:

Isla’s high chair sits at the head of the table. We took the tray off so she uses a plate on the table just like we do.

BJ did a great job hand crafting this piece. Let me know if you want more details and I’ll have him do a guest post on the specifics.

Sorry for the sporadic posting. I have had requests for more posts, I have lots of posts written in my head, so I’ll start working on them ASAP!

One response to “new table

  1. What a beautiful table! A guest post would be fun to read, I showed this post to my husband and he’s interested to hear “the specifics.” 🙂
    P.S. I love seeing photos of your kitchen, it is adorable. The paint color and the yellow striped curtain – it all looks so great together!

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

