vancouver usa half marathon

Last weekend I finished my second half marathon! You might remember running a half marathon was on my 2012 Goal List, well I’m happy to say I conquered every one of those 13.1 miles. It had been a long week including a little encounter with the stomach flu, a cross country airplane trip with my 14 month old and only one day to recover before heading down to the race, but I still made it. (And so did Isla, which is also amazing.) My goal was to run in under 2 hours and I came in at 1:57, so I’m pretty happy with that.

Here I am before the race! Ready to run!

All done, posing with half my cheering section.

For those of you who have known me for a while, you may be surprised to see me love running so much. (Let’s just say that gym class was my least favorite part of the school day.) I absolutely love running. I have a great running partner, so the miles go by quickly, and I feel so strong and empowered after a big run. I also hope to be an inspiration to Isla showing health, strength and confidence.

Lastly, thanks to my husband for being so supportive and encouraging when I doubted myself. 🙂

2 responses to “vancouver usa half marathon

  1. Clare

    Rachel way to go! I’m so impressed with your time! You’re really working it! Is BJ your running partner? Isla?

  2. rachelmarie4384

    Thanks, Clare! BJ and Isla are sometimes my running partners, but my real running partner is my friend Gina. It makes the miles go so quickly when you have someone to talk with. Plus, we run about the same pace, so it works out great.

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

